The governing body of the Iona McGregor Fire District consists of a five member elected Board of Fire Commissioners. Board members serve a staggered four year term. Board members are required to live within the boundaries of the District in order to qualify for the non-partisan elections held every two years.

The Board of Fire Commissioners provide direction in policy and procedures and are responsible for financial oversight.

The Fire Commission meetings are held on a monthly basis, normally the third Wednesday of each month. In accordance with the Florida Sunshine Law, all meetings are open to the public, and visitors are welcome.